Shazam! Waiting for your turn to speak is not the same as listening.

Posted: June 29, 2007 in Random Thoughts
Tags:

So, my biggest pet peeve in the last couple of weeks has been me.

Why, Jeebus, can’t I just fucking listen to what people tell me? Do I really need to be hit in the face with a sledgehammer before I get it?

I think that people tend to mythologize their own lives in ways that can ultimately prove dangerous when the veil is pulled back. We have a habit of trying to bend the universe and everyone in it to our will, which, while great for us, doesn’t do a whole lot for the people we claim to care about. I personally have an issue with trying to shove people into boxes that they have no chance of fitting in and then convincing them that it’s not really tight in there, they just need to lose some weight.

I had a dream last night; one I haven’t had since the last time I decided I was Master of the Universe in about 2001. It involves a friend dying in front of me in a variety of scenarios, each one seemingly preventable, but life saving solutions eluding me until it’s too late. Anyone who knows me knows I have a bit of a complex for saving people, when you start having dreams like this one though, it’s time to hang up the cape and little red booties.

All right Universe, I get it. My ends of June/Canada Day resolutions are these:

I WILL ONLY SURROUND MYSELF WITH PEOPLE I DON’T HAVE TO LIMIT OR STRETCH MYSELF TO GET ON WITH.

I WILL NOT, WILL NOT, TRY TO SAVE ANYONE BUT MYSELF.

I WILL STOP CARRYING ONE-SIZE FITS ALL PERSONALITY BOXES AROUND IN MY BACK POCKET.

I WILL EAT WAFFLES.

I sure hope I get this shit down before I turn 70.

Up, up and away.

Share

Comments
  1. my biggest pet peeve is that you’re not blogging. what the hell, not only did you see Michael Moores new movie but you also spent the weekend with two zombies from the Church of Hope and Love with save us all.

  2. I think you have it a little backwards, the point is to let people be themselves, and have enough stuff in your own life so that you don’t have a compulsion of filling your own needs of being a saviour. It’s not about being a saviour – all that states is “I feel accomplished when I can help other people, but they don’t like the way I do things.” People like doing things for themselves. When they ask for your help (even when it’s internal help) then you can give it to them. The trick is to surround you with people who DO stretch you, who recreate you, who challenge you to get out of the box YOU PUT YOURSELF IN. Because people do change, they have to. They don’t like it. We have been brought up to say we like ourselves, if we didn’t we’d better change something and fast. If you want to have a good life, you cannot isolate yourself.

Leave a Reply

